Hey guys what is up Becker here,
Why 95% Of People Fail To Make Money Online
It is a well know fact that about 95% people fail to create a full time income online. The most shocking fact I have found though is the 5% who do are not doing anything extremely sexy or anything THAT incredible.
In fact most marketers I know making 100k+ a year focus on very basic proven techniques
So what does this tell you? 95% percent of people online simply are overlooking the basic principles of Internet Marketing, and only paying attention to SEXY ways to make money online.
Things like understanding what your traffics wants, basic marketing, and directing traffic effectively are virtually ignored! People want to hear about how to send a few backlinks to a random site and make 5k a month while watching TV. In this post I want to personally challenge you to be the person who digs deeper.

Yes, I know this picture is AWESOME
What 95% Marketers Overlook In Keyword Research
The biggest issue most people have when it comes to keyword research is they simply do not actually take the time to understand their keywords.
Every blog, course, or guru out there always focuses on 2 factor. The keywords search volume and competition…Are these important? Of course!..But , you know what is 100x more valuable and allows marketers to make the big bucks in SEO
Understanding the people typing IN the keyword
What people are forgetting is one simple rule: To make money online, you have to get people do something online, period. So if this true, wouldn’t it be extremely important to understand the person behind the keyword instead of just focusing on its search stats?
This is why a keyword such as:
How To Stop A Heat Attack – 500 searches a month (made up number)
is much better than
How Shoes Are Made – 10,000 searches
So in this post I want to break down exactly what to look for in keywords besides just their stats. This is a big mistake people (myself included) make in keyword research and is a curse when they start monetizing their site (I will be getting into that issue in the next post)
Keyword Profit Indicator Number 1: The Level Of Need For A Solution
Why do people use Google? To solve an issue.
The issue can be full filling their need to find a funny picture of a cat. It can also be how to prevent dying prematurely. One of these is obviously a much bigger issue than the other.
Lets imagine the stats for these real quick.
Funny Cat Pictures – 10k searches per Month
How To Prevent Premature Death – 500 searches per month
Most people would instantly take on the Funny Cat Pictures niche because they have been lead to believe that higher search volume=money.
But, if we take a step back. Who is more likely to pay you $100 to solve their problem? A person who is bored and wants to be entertained by cat pictures OR a 30+ year old man who is afraid of that he could die in 5 years if he doesn’t solve his health problem.
The latter of course, because he NEEDS a solution NOW. Because of this dire need a site targeting this keyword could get a 5% conversion rate on a $100 product NO PROBLEM.
The cat site would be lucky to have a .05% conversion rate on any $5 product they were trying to sell.
To put this in perspective
How To Live Longer : 500 Visitors A Month, 5% Conversion Rate, $100 Product
500x.o5= 25 25×100=2500 per Month. Flippable for 15k+
Funny Pictures of Cats : 10k visitors a month, 1% conversion rate, 5 dollar product
Less Than 500 Per Month
One thing to also keep in mind. There are VERY few keywords with a 10k+ search volume that are non-competitive. There are a TON of tiny big problem keywords that are untapped though
Keyword Tip #1: Pick Big Problems, for Big Results
Keyword Profit Indicator #2: Understanding WHO your visitor is
One thing that is completely ignored half the time is understanding who is searching for a keyword. Remember, just because everyone can use the internet doesn’t mean everyone has the same amount of income to spend. Not all visitors are created equal
A broke 18 year old is going to put a lot of thought into spending $10 online. However, a 40 year old banker will probably spend $400 out boredom. Lets look at two searches in the same niche
How To Flirt With A Girl : 14,000 searches per month
This is a HUGE search.
However lets take a step back. Who is the most likely person to be wondering about how to kiss a girl. Probably a person that has never kissed a girl in their life or is VERY inexperienced/young. Most people over the age of 22 (the age where people start to have money) have kissed a girl or have very different issues when it comes to dating.
So this assumed huge money search, is mostly made up of 12-18 years olds with very little money to spend. They are also very inexperienced when it comes to buying products online
Case and Point: When I used to run College Flirt, I ranked highly for the keyword: how to flirt with a girl. I quickly realized who most of my traffic was when I started getting people emails requesting how to use a debit card online, if this would show up on their parents bill, and flat out if they could get a free book because they had no money (the books were 7 dollars)
I liked helping people on there, but this traffic is a marketers worse nightmare.
Now lets look at another keyword in the dating niche
Dating Tips For Divorcees – 500 search per month (Imagined Number)
This keyword would seems pretty worthless to most people. However, think about it.Most people that are divorced are age 25+. At this age they usually have a stable income and very often burn money just because it feels good to do so.
I was at a bar last week, and a guy making 50k a year ( average middle class income) dropped $200 on drinks for me. Why? Because spending money feels good when you have it. This is our ideal targeted customer.
Case and Point: A paid traffic marketer I know EXCLUSIVELY targets divorcees with dating products and advice. His clients have paid up to 2k for private coaching. He usually has over 5 clients a month. Woah!
Keyword Research Tip # 2:
Think about what the words in the search tell you about the searcher. WHO would have this problem, WHO would type this in. HOW MUCH is their cash worth to them.
Keyword Profit Indicator # 3: Understanding The Hidden Issues
This is perhaps one of the most important factors I look at in keywords, and allows me to virtually to make money off some of the weirdest untapped keywords imaginable.
Here are some examples of what people REALLY are looking for in keywords (or what they can be converted to)
Turkey Burgers:
- How can I eat healthier,
- My blood pressure is high from beef
- My children love burgers but they are SOO bad for them. Maybe turkey would be a good alternative
Firefox browser not playing videos:
- Why is my computer always broken,
- I need new internet
- How can I get rid of malware
Toys For Children:
- How Can I keep my kids safe,
- what is the most popular toy at the moment,
- how can i bee a better parent
This is huge. Remember, if you can spot the TYPE of person making a search, you can pin point big issue needs they might have. Then you can sell them on it!
-The Mom looking for toys probably is terrified of her children getting hurt. You can convert her to a $100 baby monitor
-The person interested in turkey meat probably wants to eat healthier. Convert them to a product that lowers blood pressure, lowers a dress size in a week etc
-The guy having trouble with their internet browser probably has mal-ware. Convince em of that and he will probably buy software to fix it.
Etc, Etc, Etc

Everyone Has Them, Its Your Job To Find Them
The Secret To Keyword Research Is…Looking at WORDS!
Why do words exist?
To tell us what people are thinking! People give away clues to what will make them whip out their credit cards every time they use Google. Our jobs as SEO site owners is to decode those clues and use them to make an income online.
The point I am trying to make is: Yes, search volume is important when it comes to keyword research. HOWEVER, what the words suggest is far far more important when it comes to making a real income online.
Next time you are about decide on a keyword ask yourself
Who would search for this?
Is this an issue they would spend money to fix?
What other issues are they likely to be having?
Hope You guys enjoyed the post!
-Becker
We Are Having Our Next Free Value Webinar January 7th. Be sure to watch your emails for the invite
(Join up for free update below if you would like to attend)
What a great way to start the year!
=)
Hey bit off topic but any reason in Traffic Dundee not to use mailchimp? Just looking for a free alternative for now.
hey becker great article
actually all other courses suck balls that they don’t point this out as much as you do…kinda faggot noob advice givers morons
is there any keywords which can make huge cash in low volumes u know ? ( doesn’t matter if everybody knows them ^^,just out of curiosity )
Hot tubes would be good i guess lol
Of course, “review” keywords usually can make quite a lot for example. You might have under 1,000/month but those people are more interested in buying so if you get lets say a 75% cut off a $20 product you can get $15 per sale and if you have a 5% conversion that can end up being quite a lot for such a low traffic amount. Some niches with adsense have $100+ ecpms (you make on average $100 per 1000 visitor). Though I average $15-25 most of the time overall.
This is great post from internet marketer prospective.
I love how all advice seems to turn into “do you mind using your brain a bit, bro?” at some point.
Nice tips becker,
I was doing just that with a niche i found an exact match for a high volume search on, but that specific exact match kw had low CPC, however the specific kw in that same niche, with much lower volume, have one of the highest CPC on adsense (and products too i’m sure!)
I’m having a hard time finding these specific products though since clickbank doesn’t sell many products relating to this niche.
Your pictures ARE awesome. Sort of surprised your site is not using the ever popular Semper Fi SEO Pack. There may be less and less need to though as bots now scan and index whole sites for content. It can be interesting and fun to play around with the tools, yet as you point out working with ones’ brain can simply be ingenious. Thanks for sharing this article.
Glad you wrote about this. I’ve been struggling with expanding on different KWs to target for my sites. This helps a ton! Cheers!
forgot all about this – i had a ppc-coach membership for a little while and the dude emphasized intelligent long-tails pretty hard. went back over the words that im targeting after reading this and im already up to 6,400 more searches per month from diversifying 2 keywords. got 3 major players left to go.
thanks brobro.
seo is pretty fucking cool. like, im almost done with a site that’s been my baby for a couple of months…and it’s weird. li almost don’t know how to deal with not working on it for a couple of hours a day. got a 4.4k exact match domain with like 40k+ in other searches to work with so i guess i’m on to the next one.
can’t believe i used to make people pizza…
very good stuff!
That’s gonna help me a lot.Thanks!
Loved the article and your general ‘IM isn’t for robots’ approach.
I have a question though: In your experience, can the cost per click be trusted as an indicator for the interest of the hidden issue?
Looking forward to sunday’s seminar!
Great article!
What keyword research tool are you using to see competition and searches per month?
I have found a good few 3-4k+ search keywords (exact) with low competition on google keyword tool but when I search these keywords on google though there are no sponsored ads.
Google’s contextual tool gives me >$1 cpc for these but it makes me think if no one is advertising then I wont make anything in adsense.
Am I not doing the search correctly?
Was the recording of the last webinar sent? Cause i didn’t recieved nothing in my email.
Got a question for yah, I got a website on blogspot.com which ranks number one for my keywords. If i buy a .com.net.org domain would my earnings go up (maybe because of better ranking for other keywords) or would they stay the about same because im nr.1 anyways.
Is it worth it buying a domain for it?
Quick Question about the sites url in links
does it matter if the link is
https://www.blahblah or
blahblah.com or
http://blahblah.com
in terms of google reckognizing it?
No, but make sure you have a permanent redirect done from the other one to the link you are using. ( www. vs no www). WordPress does this automatically for you (and by default does the non www)
Thats some great guidelines. My main focus is maintaining country specific pages, and while it is a minor “market”, i can still use this. Thanks.
Recently I have been getting a lot of crappy sites commenting on my site. Also lots of spam.
How do I stop this? and what plugins do i use?
I use akismet, works quite well for me but not 100%
Becker, Alex can you please respond.
I didn’t recieved the last webinars recording, can you please provide me a link or something?
Hey Becker –
This is a fantastic post on keyword research.
I think I’ve been going at it all wrong and targeting keywords that were too difficult for me to rank for especially since I am not very experienced in linkbuilding and my SEO is something I don’t want to do a ton of.
I think I’ll take your guys perspective and try it for a bunch of niche sites and see how that works out for me.
Thanks again for the advice.
Really hope it works.
awesome POST !